Help Us Shape The Internet's Future

Alan Greenberg Continues as ALAC Chair, ALAC Leadership Team Composition Confirmed

In August 2017, Alan Greenberg announced that he will serve as the ALAC Chair till the end of ICANN63. He aims to continue the work with enhancing the effectiveness of At-Large Structures, to start the At-Large Review Implementation as well as to see the ICANN Accountability efforts be completed. Also, the composition of the five-member ALAC Leadership Team (ALT), the executive branch of the ALAC, has been confirmed for a one-year term beginning at the end of ICANN60. In addition to Alan Greenberg (North America) serving as the Chair, Bastiaan Goslings (Europe) and Maureen Hilyard (Asian, Australasian, and the Pacific Islands) will serve in the capacity of Vice-Chairs. Bartlett Morgan (Latin American and the Caribbean Islands) and Seun Ojedeji (Africa) are the remaining two ALT members. Notably, Bastiaan, Bartlett, and Seun are emerging new leaders in the At-Large Community. Furthermore, the ALAC appoints Liaisons to the ccNSO, GAC, GNSO, and SSAC, who are also the extension of the ALT. Liaisons are tasked to communicate ALAC positions to those groups and report their activities and actions that may be of interest to the ALAC. For the year 2017-2018, Cheryl Langdon-Orr will continue as the GNSO Liaison, and Yrjö Länsipuro will continue as the GAC Liaison. For the time being, Maureen Hilyard will continue as the ccNSO Liaison and Julie Hammer will serve as the SSAC Liaison. However, given their respective new leadership roles within the ALT and the SSAC, the ALAC will soon start its process identifying and selecting replacements.