Help Us Shape The Internet's Future

2017 AFRALO Activities at ICANN59, Johannesburg (26-29 June 2017)

​Overview | General Assembly | Local Community Engagement Capacity Building | Showcase | Mentorship | Pre-ICANN59 Webinars | Organizing Committee 


Local Community Engagement

Monday 26 June 2017, 09:30 am – 12:00 pm 

Since the ICANN47 meeting in Durban, South Africa (July 2013), AFRALO has been engaging with the local community each time the ICANN meeting is held on African soil. In Durban, we brought in the ICANN meeting students, Professors and civil society organization representatives from South Africa and Zimbabwe. The successful result of this first experience encouraged us to do the same in Marrakech (March 2016) where we organized an afternoon in the university with an amphitheater full of students and teachers.

In Johannesburg, a 150 minute event will be organized on Monday 26 June 2017 from 09:30 am to 12:00 pm noon with the representatives of our At-Large Structures (ALSes), plus around 60 students, professors and professionals from Johannesburg University and the Innovation Hub. Here is the Agenda:    


Moderator: Tijani BEN JEMAA, ALAC Vice Chair


Welcome Address 09:30 am – 09:40 am

Aziz Hilali, AFRALO Chair

Alan Greenberg, ALAC Chair


Guest Address | ​09:40 am – 10:10 am                      

Göran Marby, ICANN President & CEO

Steve Crocker, ICANN Board Chair

Sally Costerton, Sr Advisor To President & SVP, Global Stakeholder Engagement

Pierre Dandjinou, ICANN VP, GSE for Africa

Dr Daniel Mashao, Head of Innovation and Research at the Johannesburg University

Lucky Masilela, Local Partner


Introductions | 10:10 am – 10:30 am              

ICANN: Fatimata Seye Sylla, AFRALO Former Chair & incoming Vice Chair

ICANN Board: Leon Sanchez, Incoming ICANN Board Director

ALAC: Seun Ojedeji, ALAC member

AFRALO: Sarah Kiden, AFRALO Secretary


Brainstorming | 10:30 am – 11:55 am              

Interaction, discussion, Q&A


Closing Remarks | 11:55 am – 12:00 pm                    

Aziz Hilali, AFRALO Chair